The Julio – Claudian Emperors

The Julio-Claudian dynasty normally refers to the first five Roman Emperors: Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula (also known as Gaius), Claudius, and Nero, or the family to which they belonged; they ruled the Roman Empire from its formation, in the second half of the 1st century (44/31/27) BC, until AD 68, when the last of the line, Nero, committed suicide.None of the Julio-Claudians were succeeded by their sons; only one of them had a legitimate son survive him. The ancient historical writers, chiefly Suetonius and Tacitus, write from the point of view of the Roman senatorial aristocracy, and portray the Emperors in generally negative terms, whether from preference for the Roman Republic or love of a good scandalous story.

27 BC – AD 14    Augustus (C. Julius Caesar Octavianus)

14 – 37    Tiberius (Ti. Claudius Nero)

37 – 41   Caligula (C. Caesar)

41 – 54   Claudius (Ti. Claudius Drusus) see more

54 – 68   Nero (Nero Claudius Caesar)

68 – 69   Galba (Set. Sulpicius Galba)

69   Otho (M. Salvius Otho)

69   Vitellius (A. Vitellius)



click on to see larger picture:


Other related articles you might like...

One Response to The Julio – Claudian Emperors

  1. Roman says:

    Despite the morality of using violence to achieve personal or political aims, the fact remains that Countries exist because of wars fought against their neighbours or rivals. Independence is largely secured through the employment of armed forces and the willingness to fight if threatened, this alone prepares us all for such an eventuality.

    I commend you on your site it contains a lot of quality information and is well done.

Leave a Reply to Roman Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *